Andrew Downing's Otterville - Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2021 @ 8:30pm


The Rex’s JUNO ARTIST APPRECIATION SERIES presents Andrew Downing's Otterville!



- Ticket Prices already include a $3 processing fee.

- There are no physical/digital tickets. After purchasing tickets, your name will be added to our guest list. Please bring ID on the night of the performance that matches the name on the order confirmation. 

- Presale tickets are only available until 4PM the day of the performance, but are usually sold out by then so best to book as early as possible.

- On the night of the show, unsold presale tickets are made available at the door on a first-come first-served basis.



Front Section  - Closest to stage, best sight-lines

Middle Section - Good views of stage, Tall and Bar Tables & Seating

Upper Back Section - Further from stage, (some seats partially obstructed view).

BOOTH SEATING - Each booth can seat up to 4 people. (1 ticket purchase for a booth will allow entry to 4 people, one of whom is the ticket purchaser).



All Sales are final, No Refunds [Excluding scheduled performances that are cancelled]



In accordance with Ontario Public Health regulations, all patrons must provide proof of Full Vaccination prior to entry. More information can be found here:


Andrew Downing's Otterville

Andrew Downing - Cello
Christine Bougie - Lap Steel
Michael Davidson - Vibraphone
Tara Davidson - Saxophone
Paul Mathew - Bass
Nick Fraser - Drums

"Certainly the kind of record you want to set time aside so you can settle back into it, the tricks Downing plays need to be savored and enjoyed. Well done throughout."

– The Midwest Record

“…superb arrangements that blur the instrumental tones into a dream-like luminescent whole.”

– All About Jazz


Otterville is Andrew Downing’s foray into the complex simplicity of his ancestral Tobacco Belt lineage. The music is nostalgic, evocative, peaceful, and humourous, finding influence from Kurt Weill, Billy Strayhorn, Erik Satie, and Bill Frisell. The magical layering of lap steel guitar, vibraphone, cello, saxophone, bass, and drums creates the backdrop for the subtleness of the music to quietly squeeze the listener into emotional submission. The group’s debut double CD, simply called Otterville, was released in 2016 to critical acclaim including a JUNO nomination. Lovesome, Otterville's second album was recorded during the first wave of the global pandemic and was released in April of 2021.

Named after the sleepy town in Tobacco Country where Downings roamed throughout the 20th century, OTTERVILLE is a new quintet led by Andrew Downing that evokes the peace, quiet, and simplicity of small-town Ontario. It features Downing on cello, Tara Davidson on alto saxophone, Michael Davidson on vibraphone, Paul Mathew on bass, and Nick Fraser on drums. The subtle, song-like compositions and the contained virtuosity of the musicians take a sweet and contentedly nostalgic snapshot of the slow passage of time in the country and the joys that can bring. The double CD and special edition book were released in October 2016. Their newest album LOVESOME was released earlier this year and is available below.





Recently viewed